Into the Teeth

(listen here)

Are there strange bodies overhead? Are they the raised bodies of the dead? While some fiery tongues slowly spread and lie in wait beneath my bed.

My father spoke with a righteous breath, and he asked if I feared the undying death and the weight of our failure in my inborn debt to an unseen providence.

Well, I tried my best to be the good sheep but I just wasn’t blessed with a thick enough fleece to ward off the winter for my soul to keep and the flock keeps on moving.

So I’ll join with the starving lions instead and I’ll pace back and forth with them deep in our den and I’ll feed on the weak ones that wander in and hope that shepherd comes to find them.

Deliver me into the teeth. Oh Deity, I fear thee.

I’ve learned of a love, a strange love from above that came as a flood before it came as a dove and I’m not sure which my dim soul’s made of but I think it needs to lighten up.

So light it up, light it up and fill up my cup and I’ll let it shine like my mind’s made up so I’ll become a balloon when the line gets cut, I hope he says I’ve done enough.

Deliver me into the teeth. Oh Deity, I fear thee.

Give us our lamps and a thirst. We take on the yoke and the curse. We give up our ghosts from the dirt for your categories; for your categories; for the power and the glory.

Are there strange bodies overhead? Are they the raised bodies of the dead? While some fiery tongues slowly spread and lie in wait beneath my bed.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

